Social Buttons

Friday, November 19, 2010

Highlights from the Next Wave Gala

James Thiérrée, nouveau cirque master and creator of Raoul, with BAM Executive Produce Joseph V. Melillo, the Next Wave Gala Honoree.
Thanks to all of our BAM Producer Council members and Next Wave Gala leadership who helped make the Next Wave Gala Patron Celebration on November 9 such a great success!  View this full article for highlights of who attended the spectacular night. 

The gala raised nearly half a million dollarsin support of BAM, and many gala guests also contributed towards the Joseph V. Melillo Fund for Artistic Innovation, an ongoing initiative named for the gala honoree, Executive Producer Joe Melillo, in celebration of his 25 years of programming at BAM.

After an emotional tribute to Joe on the stage of the BAM Harvey Theater, guests made their way from a breathtaking performance of Raoul to a festive gala dinner at the stunning Skylight One Hanson.  The full album of images from the night is available on Picasa, and below are a couple of our favorites.  The event also received great coverage from New York Social Diary, V Magazine, Theatermania, and The Brooklyn Daily Eagle.

We are looking forward to seeing you all at our next gala event - save the date for the 2011 BAM Theater Gala on March 10, featuring Geoffrey Rush and the acclaimed Australian company Belvoir in The Diary of a Madman.  Click here to RSVP!

Gala chairs Steven & Susan Felsher at the pre-show cocktail reception with BAM Trustee Adi Shamir. 
Photo by Elena Olivo

The Next Wave Gala Honorary Chair Steve Sachs with his wife Michelle Lynn-Sachs.  Photo by Elena Olivo

Catherine Lebow, Seth Rosenberg, and Judith R. Fishman prior to the evening's performance of Raoul
Photo by Elena Olivo

The Next Wave Gala honoree Executive Producer Joseph V. Melillo, celebrating his 25 years of programming at BAM, surrounded by family members.  Photo by Elena Olivo

Diane Max, Hannah Max, and Adam E. Max, Vice Chairman of the BAM Board of Trustees.  Photo by Elena Olivo

Diana Calthorpe Rose, BAM President Karen Brooks Hopkins, BAM Trustee Jonathan FP Rose, with composer Philip Glass.  Photo by Elena Olivo

Kirk Henckles and Fernanda Kellogg
Photo by Elena Olivo

Gala guests with Margaret Morton (second from right) of the NYC Department of Cultural Affairs and NYC Cultural Commissioner Kate Levin.  Photo by Elena Olivo.
DJ Andrew Andrew with BAM Trustee Mallory Factor, BAM Board member for 30 years.  Photo by Elena Olivo
BAM President Karen Brooks Hopkins presented the gala honoree (and her professional partner for 25 years) Joe Melillo with a print of Roy Lichtenstein's This Must Be The Place, 1965.  During the pre-performance remarks, Joe received a heartfelt and enthusiastic standing ovation when he took the stage.
Photo by Elena Olivo

Combined with the decor by Fleurs Bella, Skylight One Hanson was transformed into a spectacular gala dinner setting.  Photo by Elena Olivo

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.